Auto Backup Feature - VEXcode VR

In order to keep your progress while working on a project, VEXcode VR has an automatic backup feature. This feature works for both Blocks projects and Text projects.

This article will cover:

  • Auto Backup in a Blocks Project
  • Auto Backup in a Text Project

If you are in a classroom that shares devices and do not want a student to see the previous student’s code, start a new project before closing the VEXcode VR tab.

Please note that if you have multiple VEXcode VR tabs open, the auto backup will ONLY store the project in the last tab that was closed. The other projects will not be backed up.


Auto Backup in a Blocks Project

While working on a project in VEXcode VR, your browser may unexpectedly or accidentally be closed. To restore your project, simply reopen VEXcode VR in your browser.

Note: This auto backup will only work if you use the same browser before and after the crash. If your Safari window closes unexpectedly, you cannot open a Chrome window and see the restored project.

Once the project has been restored, it is recommended that you save the project.

save_the_project__blocks_.png

If you have selected a block or modified a restored Blocks project and attempt to open a new Blocks or Text project, you will be prompted to save the project.

Prompted_to_save.png

Note: If you restore a project and immediately attempt to open a new Blocks or Text project, you will not be prompted to save.


Auto Backup in a Text Project

While working on a project in VEXcode VR, your browser may unexpectedly or accidentally be closed. To restore your project, simply reopen VEXcode VR in your browser.

Note: This auto backup will only work if you use the same browser before and after the crash. If your Safari window closes unexpectedly, you cannot open a Chrome window and see the restored project.

VEXcode VR will automatically open in the text project mode with your project restored.

Once the project has been restored, it is recommended that you save the project.

save_the_project__text_.png

If you have not yet saved the project and attempt to open a new Blocks or Text project, you will be prompted to save the restored project.

Prompted_to_save.png


 

Articles in this section