Opening and Saving VEXcode GO Projects on a Chromebook

This article will cover the following topics:


Create a New Project

New_Block_Project.png

A new project opens when VEXcode GO is opened. But, a new project can also be opened from the File Menu.

Select ‘New Blocks Project’ from the File Menu.

Note-prompt_to_save.png

Note: when creating a new project, a prompt will appear asking to save if the current project has not already been saved. See the ‘Save a Project’ section for details on how to save a project.


Open an Example Project

File_open_example_Chromebook.png

Open an example project by selecting ‘Open Examples’ from the File menu.


Open an Existing Project

Select_Open_.png

Select ‘Open’ from the File Menu to open an existing project.

Downloads_folder.png

Select the file, then select ‘Open’ to open a project.

Project_will_open_and_name_will_appear_in_Project_Name_Area.png

The project will open in the Workspace, and the name of the project will appear in the Project Name window.


Save a Project

A project can be saved in VEXcode GO by using the File Menu and Save as a copy.

Save Using the File Menu

Open_file_Menu_Select_Save.png

Open the File menu and select ‘Save.’

VEXcode_project.png

The Chromebook’s file menu will then open with the existing VEXcode Project name.

Name_project.png

Name your project by typing in your Chromebook's Save dialog window. Notice the .goblocks file extension after the file name. All VEXcode GO files will have this file extension.

Download_destination.png

Select the destination, such as the Downloads folder.

Select_save.png

Then select ‘Save.’

Name_of_project_will_appear.png

The name of the project will appear in the Project Name window.

Automatically_Save_changes.png

After a project is saved, VEXcode GO will automatically save all changes in a project.

Note: whenever there is an unsaved project VEXcode GO will prompt users to save their work if the user attempts to:

  • Create a new project
  • Open another project

Save a Copy

Select_Save_As.png

To make a copy of a project under a different name or in a different location, select ‘Save As’ in the File menu.